- Ingredients dried ground extract of gelidium seaweed
Gluten Free & non-GMO
- Origin Italy
- Description also known as agar agar or kanten, Agar powder is an off-white, gelatinous substance extracted from gelidium sesquipedale seaweed that is dried and powdered. Agar powder is used as a vegetarian gelatin substitute and is non-GMO.
- To Use soften 1 teaspoon agar in 1 tablespoon cold water, and then add 1 cup boiling water. Dissolve completely and pour jelly into mold. Agar sets at approximately 35 – 37˚C, and can only be re-melted by heating to boiling temperature. It can be weakened by prolonged heating. Agar is also stable when thawed from frozen. Use in fruit pies, jellies, jams, and soups.